Outstanding Researcher Awards 2015-16

Message from Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)


Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the 2015-16 award recipients of the Outstanding Researcher Awards scheme, including the Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA), Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA), Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award (ORSSA), and Research Output Prize (ROP).

The ORA and OYRA are awards made by the University Research Committee to give recognition to experienced colleagues and young researchers, respectively, for their extremely outstanding accomplishments in research.  The ORSSA is to accord recognition of colleagues’ highly effective supervisory guidance and support to their research postgraduate students.  The recipients of the 2015-16 Awards are as follows:

Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA)
Professor Sydney Chi Wai Tang, Department of Medicine (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Professor Guochun Zhao, Department of Earth Sciences (Faculty of Science)
Professor Kevin Zheng Zhou, School of Business (Faculty of Business and Economics)

Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA)
Dr. Xiang David Li, Department of Chemistry (Faculty of Science)
Dr. Julian Alexander Tanner, School of Biomedical Sciences (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Dr. Po Jen Yap, Department of Law (Faculty of Law)
Dr. Huachen Zhu, School of Public Health (LKS Faculty of Medicine)

Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award (ORSSA)
Professor Xin-Yuan Guan, Department of Clinical Oncology (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Professor Kenneth Mei Yee Leung, School of Biological Sciences (Faculty of Science)

Research Output Prize (ROP)
The ROP was established as a Faculty-based award to honour each Faculty's best research output.  This year, ten Research Output Prizes will be conferred on the author (or team of authors) of the best research output items selected by Faculties.  Please refer to the Research Services website at http://www.rss.hku.hk/honours-awards/internal-awards/rop-winners for details.

My heartfelt congratulations to all the award recipients on their outstanding achievements.  They are role models for all academics of HKU while we are gearing for excellence, quality and impact in the research, innovation and knowledge transfer endeavors.  May I also take this opportunity to thank all members involved in the review and selections for undertaking this difficult task.  To those colleagues whom we were unable to recommend for awards, I would strongly encourage them to strengthen their cases and try again in the coming years.

With best regards,

Professor Andy Hor
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)