Outstanding Researcher Awards 2016-17

Message from Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Dear colleagues,

I am pleased to announce the 2016-17 award recipients of the Outstanding Researcher Awards scheme, including the Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA), Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA), Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award (ORSSA), and Research Output Prize (ROP).

The ORA and OYRA are awards made by the University Research Committee to give recognition to experienced colleagues and young researchers, respectively, for their extremely outstanding accomplishments in research. The ORSSA is to accord recognition of colleagues’ highly effective supervisory guidance and support to their research postgraduate students. The recipients of the 2016-17 Awards are as follows:

Outstanding Researcher Award (ORA)

Professor Benjamin John Cowling, School of Public Health (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Professor Xiaodong Cui
, Department of Physics (Faculty of Science)
Professor Lit Man Leo Poon
, School of Public Health (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Professor Ben Young
, Department of Civil Engineering (Faculty of Engineering)

Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA)

Dr. Wai Kay Walter Seto, Department of Medicine (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Dr. Ho Cheung Shum
, Department of Mechanical Engineering (Faculty of Engineering)
Dr. Jinyao Tang
, Department of Chemistry (Faculty of Science)
Dr. Carmen Chak Lui Wong
, Department of Pathology (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Dr. Shizhong Zhang
, Department of Physics (Faculty of Science)

Outstanding Research Student Supervisor Award (ORSSA)

Dr. Julian Alexander Tanner, School of Biomedical Sciences (LKS Faculty of Medicine)
Professor Tong Zhang
, Department of Civil Engineering (Faculty of Engineering)

Research Output Prize (ROP)

The ROP was established as a Faculty-based award to honour each Faculty's best research output. This year, ten Research Output Prizes will be conferred on the author (or team of authors) of the best research output items selected by Faculties. Please refer to the Research Services homepage at http://www.rss.hku.hk/honours-awards/internal-awards/rop-winners for details.

My heartfelt congratulations to all the award recipients on their outstanding achievements. They are role models for all academics of HKU while we are gearing for excellence, quality and impact in the research, innovation and knowledge transfer endeavors. May I also take this opportunity to thank all members involved in the review and selections for undertaking this difficult task. To those colleagues whom we were unable to recommend for awards, I would strongly encourage them to strengthen their cases and try again in the coming years.

With best regards,

Professor Andy Hor
Vice-President and Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)