EN Print
Print-friendly
Text
Download PDF
Press 'Tab' to enter menu

Directory of Key Members

Community

Ageing
Convenor  
Professor K.S.L. Lam (Medicine) ksllam@hku.hk
Deputy Convenors  
Professor T.Y.S. Lum (Social Work and Social Administration) tlum@hku.hk
Professor A. Xu (Medicine) amxu@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr K.H. Chan (Medicine) koonho@hku.hk
Dr W.C. Chan (Psychiatry) waicchan@hku.hk
Dr R.C.C. Chang (Biomedical Sciences) rccchang@hku.hk
Dr K.H. Cheung (Biomedical Sciences) kingho.cheung@hku.hk
Professor L.W. Chu (Medicine) lwchu@hku.hk
Professor J. Hugon (Biomedical Sciences) jhugon@hkucc.hku.hk
Professor M.S.M. Ip (Medicine) msmip@hku.hk
Dr S.K.J. Kwan (Medicine) jskkwan@hku.hk
Dr A.C.K. Law (Psychiatry) acklaw@hku.hk
Professor T.M.C. Lee (Psychology) tmclee@hku.hk
Dr A.Y.M. Leung (Nursing) angleung@hku.hk
Dr V.W.Q. Lou (Social Work and Social Administration) wlou@hku.hk
Dr H.K.F. Mak (Diagnostic Radiology) makkf@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr J.C.W. Mak (Medicine) judithmak@hku.hk
Dr Y. Song (Biomedical Sciences) songy@hku.hk
Professor K.C.B. Tan (Medicine) kcbtan@hku.hk
Dr M.A. Tse (Institute of Human Performance) matse@hku.hk
Dr Y. Wang (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) yuwanghk@hku.hk
Professor B.S. Weekes (Education) weekes@hku.hk
Dr G.H.Y. Wong (Social Work and Social Administration) ghywong@hku.hk
Dr G.T.C. Wong (Anaesthesiology) gordon@hku.hk
Dr P.W.C. Wong (Social Work and Social Administration) paulw@hku.hk
Dr E.C.W. Yan (Social Work and Social Administration) elsieyan@hku.hk
Neuroscience
Convenors  
Professor T.M.C. Lee* (Psychology) tmclee@hku.hk
Professor Y.S. Chan (Biomedical Sciences) yschan@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Coordinators of the Major Areas  
Basic neuroscience:  
Professor Y.S. Chan (Biomedical Sciences) yschan@hku.hk
Professor D.K.Y. Shum (Biomedical Sciences) shumdkhk@hkucc.hku.hk
Vision:  
Professor K.F. So (Biomedical Sciences) hrmaskf@hku.hk
Engineering and neuroimaging:  
Professor P.L. Khong (Diagnostic Radiology) plkhong@hkucc.hku.hk
Professor E.X. Wu (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ewu@eee.hku.hk
Cognitive neuroscience:  
Dr W.T. Siok (Humanities) siok@hkucc.hku.hk
Social affective neuroscience:  
Professor T.M.C. Lee (Psychology) tmclee@hku.hk
Clinical neuroscience:  
Professor E.Y.H. Chen (Psychiatry) eyhchen@hku.hk
Communication and education:  
Professor B.S. Weekes (Education) weekes@hku.hk
Public Health
Convenor  
Professor R. Fielding (Public Health) fielding@hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Dr C.H. Chu (Dentistry) chchu@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr S.L. Beh (Pathology) philipbeh@pathology.hku.hk
Dr P.H. Chau (Nursing) phpchau@hku.hk
Dr S.S. Cherny (Psychiatry) cherny@hku.hk
Professor B.J. Cowling (Public Health) bcowling@hku.hk
Dr D.Y.T. Fong (Nursing) dytfong@hku.hk
Dr S.C.C. Fung (Family Medicine and Primary Care) cfsc@hku.hk
Dr D.S.Y. Ho (Public Health) syho@hku.hk
Dr D.K.M. Ip (Public Health) dkmip@hku.hk
Professor L. Jin (Dentistry) ljjin@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr J.M. Johnston (Public Health) jjohnsto@hku.hk
Professor C.L.K. Lam (Family Medicine and Primary Care) clklam@hku.hk
Professor T.H. Lam (Public Health) hrmrlth@hku.hk
Professor T.P. Lam (Family Medicine and Primary Care) tplam@hku.hk
Dr W.W.T. Lam (Public Health) wwtlam@hku.hk
Professor G.M. Leung (Public Health) gmleung@hku.hk
Professor E.C.M. Lo (Dentistry) hrdplcm@hku.hk
Dr M.Y. Ni (Public Health) nimy@hku.hk
Dr C.M. Schooling (Public Health) cms1@hku.hk
Dr A.M. Tarrant (Nursing) tarrantm@hku.hk
Professor A.F.Y. Tiwari (Nursing) afytiwar@hku.hk
Dr J.Y.H. Wong (Nursing) janetyh@hku.hk
Professor M.C.M. Wong (Dentistry) mcmwong@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr W.C.W. Wong (Family Medicine and Primary Care) wongwcw@hku.hk
Dr J.T.K. Wu (Public Health) joewu@hku.hk
Science of Learning
Convenors  
Professor N.W.Y. Law* (Education) nlaw@hku.hk
Professor C.K.K. Chan (Education) ckkchan@hku.hk
Professor A.B.M. Tsui (Education) bmtsui@hku.hk
Professor B.S. Weekes (Education) weekes@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Advisor  
Professor K.M. Cheng (Education) kmcheng@hku.hk
Key Members  
Professor S.J. Andrews (Education) sandrews@hku.hk
Professor T.K.F. Au (Psychology) terryau@hku.hk
Dr S.M. Bridges (Centre for Enhancement of Teaching and Learning and Faculty of Education) sbridges@hku.hk
Dr L.K. Chan (Medicine) lapki@hku.hk
Dr W.M. Cheung (Education) cwming@hku.hk
Dr W.W.T. Fok (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) wtfok@eee.hku.hk
Professor L. Hossain (Education) lhossain@hku.hk
Professor Y.K. Kwok (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ricky.kwok@hku.hk
Professor F.K.S. Leung (Education) frederickleung@hku.hk
Dr. A.M.Y. Lin (Education) angellin@hku.hk
Dr J. Lu (Education) jingyan@hku.hk
Dr M.F. Pang (Education) pangmf@hku.hk
Professor N. Rao (Education) nrao@hku.hk
Dr I.F. Su (Education) ifansu@hku.hk
Professor S.K. Tse (Education) sktse@hku.hk
Dr J.C.W. van Aalst (Education) vanaalst@hku.hk
Dr P.S. Yeung (Education) patcyy@hku.hk
Dr H.K. Yuen (Education) hkyuen@hku.hk
Professor L.F. Zhang (Education) lfzhang@hku.hk
Food (emerging theme)
Convenors  
Professor C.W. Lam* (Pathology) ching-wanlam@pathology.hku.hk
Dr M. Wang (Biological Sciences) mfwang@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor J.P. Burns (Social Sciences) jpburns@hku.hk
Professor C.M. Che (Chemistry) cmche@hku.hk
Professor B.M.Y. Cheung (Medicine) mycheung@hkucc.hku.hk
Professor M.L. Chye (Biological Sciences) mlchye@hku.hk
Professor H. Corke (Biological Sciences) harold@hku.hk
Dr H.S. El-Nezami (Biological Sciences) elnezami@hku.hk
Professor T.H. Lam (Public Health) hrmrlth@hku.hk
Dr C.Y.J. Lee (Biological Sciences) jettylee@hku.hk
Professor N. Shah (Biological Sciences) npshah@hku.hk
Dr H.C. Shum (Mechanical Engineering) ashum@hku.hk
Dr M.H.Y. Tang (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) tanghym@ha.org.hk
Professor S.S. Wu (Biological Sciences) rudolfwu@hku.hk
Law, Literature, Language (emerging theme)
Convenors  
Professor C.M. Hutton* (English) chutton@hku.hk
Dr M.M.H. Wan (Law) mwan@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor E.Y.L. Ho (English) eylho@hku.hk
Dr K.A. Johnson (Modern Languages and Cultures) kjohnson@hku.hk
Dr J.H.C. Leung (English) hiuchi@hku.hk
Dr D.C. Matthews (Law) danmat@hku.hk
Professor T.S. Veitch (Law) veitch@hku.hk

Biomedicine

Biomedical Engineering and Nanotechnology
Convenors  
Professor E.X. Wu* (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ewu@eee.hku.hk
Professor W. Lu (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) wwlu@hku.hk
Professor A.H.W. Ngan (Mechanical Engineering) hwngan@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Dr B.P. Chan (Mechanical Engineering) bpchan@hku.hk
Dr Y. Hu (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) yhud@hku.hk
Professor Y.S. Hung (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) yshung@eee.hku.hk
Professor P.L. Khong (Diagnostic Radiology) plkhong@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr W.N. Lee (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) wnlee@eee.hku.hk
Dr F.K.L. Leung (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) klleunga@hku.hk
Dr Y. Lin (Mechanical Engineering) ylin@hku.hk
Dr H.C. Shum (Mechanical Engineering) ashum@hku.hk
Dr K.K.M. Tsia (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) tsia@eee.hku.hk
Professor M. Wang (Mechanical Engineering) menwang@hku.hk
Dr K.W.K. Yeung (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) wkkyeung@hku.hk
Cancer
Convenors  
Professor X.Y. Guan* (Clinical Oncology) xyguan@hku.hk
Professor C.L.W. Chan (Social Work and Social Administration) cecichan@hku.hk
Professor G.S.W. Tsao (Biomedical Sciences) gswtsao@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor G.C.F. Chan (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) gcfchan@hku.hk
Dr A.Y.M. Chow (Social Work and Social Administration) chowamy@hku.hk
Dr R.T.H. Ho (Social Work and Social Administration) tinho@hku.hk
Professor S.Y.K. Law (Surgery) slaw@hku.hk
Professor S.Y. Leung (Pathology) suetyi@hku.hk
Professor M.L. Lung (Clinical Oncology) mlilung@hku.hk
Dr S.K.Y. Ma (Biomedical Sciences) stefma@hku.hk
Professor K. Man (Surgery) kwanman@hku.hk
Professor H.Y.S. Ngan (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) hysngan@hku.hk
Professor H. Sun (Chemistry) hsun@hku.hk
Dr E.W.C. Tse (Medicine) ewctse@hku.hk
Professor A.S.T. Wong (Biological Sciences) awong1@hku.hk
Professor E.X. Wu (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ewu@eee.hku.hk
Professor D. Yang (Chemistry) yangdan@hku.hk
Development and Reproduction
Convenors  
Professor K.S.E. Cheah* (Biomedical Sciences) kathycheah@hku.hk
Professor E.H.Y. Ng^ (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) nghye@hku.hk
Professor E.X. Wu (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ewu@eee.hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Advisor  
Professor M.H. Sham^ (Biomedical Sciences) mhsham@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr B.P. Chan^ (Mechanical Engineering) bpchan@hku.hk
Professor D. Chan^ (Biomedical Sciences) chand@hku.hk
Professor K.M.C. Cheung (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) cheungmc@hku.hk
Dr B.H.Y. Chung^ (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) bhychung@hku.hk
Dr M.M. Garcia-Barcelo^ (Surgery) mmgarcia@hku.hk
Professor H.S. Jung^ (Dentistry) hsjung@hku.hk
Dr C.K.F. Lee^ (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) ckflee@hku.hk
Professor A.Y.H. Leung^ (Medicine) ayhleung@hku.hk
Dr V.C.H. Lui^ (Surgery) vchlui@hku.hk
Professor K.D.K. Luk (Orthopaedics and Traumatology) hrmoldk@hkucc.hku.hk
Professor P.C. Sham (Psychiatry) pcsham@hku.hk
Dr K.K.M. Tsai^ (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) tsia@eee.hku.hk
Professor W.S.B. Yeung (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) wsbyeung@hku.hk
(^Sub-theme Coordinators)
Full membership : www.med.hku.hk/download/dp-srt-membership.pdf
Infection and Immunology
Convenors  
Professor P.C.Y. Woo* (Microbiology) pcywoo@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr R.M. Watt (Dentistry) rmwatt@hku.hk
Professor K.Y. Yuen (Microbiology) kyyuen@hkucc.hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor D. Jin (Biomedical Sciences) dyjin@hku.hk
Dr R.Y.T. Kao (Microbiology) rytkao@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr K.H. Kok (Microbiology) khkok@hku.hk
Professor S.K.P. Lau (Microbiology) skplau@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr H. Tse (Microbiology) htse@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr S.M. Yiu (Computer Science) smyiu@cs.hku.hk
Stem Cell and Regenerative Medicine (emerging theme)
Convenors  
Professor R.A. Li* (Dr Li Dak-Sum Research Centre) ronaldli@hku.hk
Professor G.C.F. Chan (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) gcfchan@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor K.R. Boheler (Biomedical Sciences) bohelerk@hku.hk
Dr R. Bruzzone (HKU-Pasteur Research Pole) bruzzone@hku.hk
Dr B.P. Chan (Mechanical Engineering) bpchan@hku.hk
Dr C.W.Y. Chan (Biomedical Sciences) camchan@hku.hk
Professor Y.F. Cheung (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) xfcheung@hku.hk
Dr M.M. Garcia-Barcelo (Surgery) mmgarcia@hku.hk
Dr W.W.Y. Keung (Biomedical Sciences) wkeung@hku.hk
Dr M.C.W. Kong (Biomedical Sciences) marcokong@hku.hk
Dr Q. Lian (Ophthalmology) qzlian@hkucc.hku.hk
Dr S.K.Y. Ma (Biomedical Sciences) stefma@hku.hk
Dr E.S.W. Ngan (Surgery) engan@hku.hk
Professor M.H. Sham (Biomedical Sciences) mhsham@hku.hk
Professor P.K.H. Tam (Surgery) paultam@hku.hk
Dr B. Yan (Biomedical Sciences) yanbin14@hku.hk
Dr H.K.F Yip (Biomedical Sciences) hkfyip@hku.hk

Environment

Clean Energy
Convenor  
Professor S.Y.R. Hui (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) ronhui@eee.hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Professor G.K.Y. Chan (Chemistry) hrsccky@hku.hk
Key Members  
Professor A. Djurisic (Physics) dalek@hku.hk
Dr S.P.T. Feng (Mechanical Engineering) hpfeng@hku.hk
Professor D.J. Hill (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) dhill@eee.hku.hk
Dr C.K. Lee (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) cklee@eee.hku.hk
Professor Y.C. Leung (Mechanical Engineering) ycleung@hku.hk
Dr B.L. Lim (Biological Sciences) bllim@hku.hk
Dr I. Panagiotou (Biological Sciences) gipa@hku.hk
Dr K. Shih (Civil Engineering) kshih@hku.hk
Dr S.C. Tan (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) sctan@eee.hku.hk
Dr C. Tang (Civil Engineering) tangc@hku.hk
Dr J. Tang (Chemistry) jinyao@hku.hk
Dr P.H. Toy (Chemistry) phtoy@hku.hk
Professor M.H. Xie (Physics) mhxie@hku.hk
New Materials
Convenor  
Professor V.W.W. Yam (Chemistry) wwyam@hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Professor P.T. Lai (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) laip@eee.hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr H.Y. Au Yeung (Chemistry) hoyuay@hku.hk
Dr M.M.Y. Chan (Chemistry) chanmym@hku.hk
Dr P.K.L. Chan (Mechanical Engineering) pklc@hku.hk
Professor W.K. Chan (Chemistry) waichan@hku.hk
Professor C.M. Che (Chemistry) cmche@hku.hk
Dr A.H.W. Choi (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) hwchoi@hku.hk
Dr W.C.H. Choy (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) chchoy@eee.hku.hk
Professor X.D. Cui (Physics) xdcui@hku.hk
Professor A. Djurisic (Physics) dalek@hku.hk
Dr A.H.C. Shum (Mechanical Engineering) ashum@hku.hk
Dr J. Tang (Chemistry) jinyao@hku.hk
Professor S.J. Xu (Physics) sjxu@hku.hk
Earth as a Habitable Planet (emerging theme)
Convenor  
Professor S. Kwok (Science) sunkwok@hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Dr K. Shih (Civil Engineering) kshih@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr T.C. Bonebrake (Biological Sciences) tbone@hku.hk
Professor K.M.Y. Leung (Biological Sciences) kmyleung@hku.hk
Dr Y. Li (Earth Sciences) yiliang@hku.hk
Dr T. Vengatesen (Biological Sciences) rajan@hku.hk
Professor Y. Zong (Earth Sciences) yqzong@hku.hk

Frontier Technology

Computation and Information
Convenors  
Professor G.H. Chen* (Chemistry) ghchen@hku.hk
Professor V.O.K. Li (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) vli@eee.hku.hk
Professor F.C. Zhang (Physics) fuchun@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor C.M. Che (Chemistry) cmche@hku.hk
Dr W.K. Ching (Mathematics) wkc@maths.hku.hk
Dr L.J. Jiang (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) jianglj@hku.hk
Dr K.C. Leung (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) kcleung@eee.hku.hk
Professor Y. Li (Mechanical Engineering) liyg@hku.hk
Professor N. Mamoulis (Computer Science) nikos@cs.hku.hk
Dr H. So (Electrical and Electronic Engineering) hso@eee.hku.hk
Professor J. Wang (Physics) jianwang@hku.hk
Professor W.P. Wang (Computer Science) wenping@cs.hku.hk
Dr C. Wu (Computer Science) cwu@cs.hku.hk
Dr W. Yao (Physics) wangyao@hku.hk
Drug
Convenor  
Professor C.M. Che (Chemistry) cmche@hku.hk
Deputy Convenors  
Professor X.Y. Guan (Clinical Oncology) xyguan@hku.hk
Professor A.S.T. Wong (Biological Sciences) awong1@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr R.C.C. Chang (Biomedical Sciences) rccchang@hku.hk
Professor P. Chiu (Chemistry) pchiu@hku.hk
Dr Y. Feng (Chinese Medicine) yfeng@hku.hk
Dr E.Y.M. Fung (Chemistry) eva.fungym@hku.hk
Professor Q. Hao (Biomedical Sciences) qhao@hku.hk
Dr J.K.W. Lam (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) jkwlam@hku.hk
Dr V.H.F. Lee (Clinical Oncology) vhflee@hku.hk
Dr D.X. Li (Chemistry) xiangli@hku.hk
Dr X. Li (Chemistry) xiaoyuli@hku.hk
Dr X. Li (Chemistry) xuechenl@hku.hk
Dr C.N. Lok (Chemistry) cnlok@hku.hk
Dr K.M. Ng (Chemistry) kwanmng@hku.hk
Dr J.A. Tanner (Biomedical Sciences) jatanner@hku.hk
Dr M. Wang (Biological Sciences) mfwang@hku.hk
Dr Y. Wang (Pharmacology and Pharmacy) yuwanghk@hku.hk
Dr A. Yan (Biological Sciences) ayan8@hku.hk
Professor D. Yang (Chemistry) yangdan@hku.hk
Genomics
Convenor  
Professor P.C. Sham (LKS Faculty of Medicine) pcsham@hku.hk
Deputy Convenors  
Professor F.Y.L. Chin (Computer Science) chin@hku.hk
Professor F.C.C. Leung (Biological Sciences) fcleung@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr S.S. Cherny (Psychiatry) cherny@hku.hk
Dr A.K.S Chiang (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) chiangak@hku.hk
Dr B.H.Y. Chung (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) bhychung@hku.hk
Dr M.M. Garcia-Barcelo (Surgery) mmgarcia@hku.hk
Professor C.W. Lam (Pathology) ching-wanlam@pathology.hku.hk
Dr M. Li (Psychiatry) limx54@gmail.com
Dr I. Panagiotou (Biological Sciences) gipa@hku.hk
Dr Y.Q. Song (Biomedical Sciences) songy@hku.hk
Professor P.K.H. Tam (Surgery) paultam@hku.hk
Dr S.M. Tang (Surgery) claratang@hku.hk
Dr J.J. Wang (Biomedical Sciences) junwen@hku.hk
Dr W. Yang (Paediatrics and Adolescent Medicine) yangwl@hku.hk
Dr S.M. Yiu (Computer Science) smyiu@cs.hku.hk
Integrative Biology (emerging theme)
Convenors  
Professor H. Sun* (Chemistry) hsun@hku.hk
Professor J. Huang (Biomedical Sciences) jdhuang@hku.hk
(* Corresponding Co-Convenor)
Key Members  
Professor Q. Hao (Biomedical Sciences) qhao@hku.hk
Professor C.S. Lau (Medicine) cslau@hku.hk
Dr D.X. Li (Chemistry) xiangli@hku.hk
Dr C.M. Qian (Biomedical Sciences) cmqian@hku.hk
Dr J.A. Tanner (Biomedical Sciences) jatanner@hku.hk
Dr A. Yan (Biological Sciences) ayan8@hku.hk
Professor D. Yang (Chemistry) yangdan@hku.hk
Dr T. Zhang (Civil Engineering) zhangt@hku.hk

China

China Business and Economics
Convenor  
Professor Z. Tao (Business) ztao@hku.hk
Deputy Convenors  
Professor F.M. Song (Economics and Finance) fmsong@hku.hk
Dr S.X. Zhao (Geography) sxzhao@hku.hk
Key Members  
Professor L.D. Qiu (Economics and Finance) larryqiu@hku.hk
Professor G. Xiao (Business) xiaogeng@hku.hk
Professor G. Yu (Law) ghyu@hku.hk
Professor K.Z. Zhou (Business) kevinzhou@business.hku.hk
China-West Studies
Convenor  
Professor S.Y.W. Chu (Modern Languages and Cultures) sywchu@hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Professor X.C. Zhang (Law) xczhang@hku.hk
Key Members  
Professor A. Jaworski (English) jaworski@hku.hk
Professor G.C.S. Lin (Geography) gcslin@hku.hk
Professor S. Shih (Chinese) shihsm@hku.hk
Contemporary China
Convenor  
Professor J.P. Burns (Social Sciences) jpburns@hku.hk
Deputy Convenor  
Professor A.G.O. Yeh (Urban Planning and Design) hdxugoy@hku.hk
Key Members  
Dr C.S.C. Chan (Sociology) cherisch@hku.hk
Professor W.R. Hu (Politics and Public Administration) rwxhu@hku.hk
Professor G.C.S. Lin (Geography) gcslin@hku.hk