State Science and Technology Awards (SSTAs) Recipients


Award Year



State Natural Science Award (SNSA)  
2020 Professor C.F. Lee (Second-class) Civil Engineering
  Ms. Y. Wang (Second-class) Earth Sciences
2019 Professor J. Lam (Second-class) Mechanical Engineering
2018 Dr J. Li (Second-class) Geography
2016 Professor T. Zhang (Second-class) Civil Engineering
2015 Professor J. Lam (Second-class) Mechanical Engineering
2014 Professor G. Zhao and Professor M. Sun (Second-class) Earth Sciences
  Professor X.Y. Li (Second-class) Civil Engineering
2013 Professor Z. Wang (Second-class) Physics


Professor X.Y. Guan (Second-class)

Clinical Oncology


Professor N. Mok (Second-class)



Professor C.M. Che (First-class)


2005 Professor V.W.W. Yam (Second-class)  Chemistry
2001 Professor D. Jin (Second-class) Biochemistry
2000  Professor H. Tong (Second-class)  Statistics and Actuarial Science 
1999 Professor Y.K. Cheung (Third-class) Civil Engineering
1995  Professor K.F. So (Fourth-class)  Anatomy 
  Professor Z. Wang (Fourth-class)  Physics 
1993  Professor C.M. Che (Third-class)  Chemistry 
  Professor K.S. Cheng (Third-class)  Physics
1989 Professor Y.K. Cheung (Second-class) Civil Engineering 


Professor M.A.K.Y. Lung and Professor C.C. Wang (Fourth-class)


State Scientific and Technological Progress Award (SSTPA)  
2020 Professor A. Xu (Second-class) Medicine
2019 Professor T.M.C. Lee (Second-class) Psychology
  Dr R.Y.T. Kao, Dr J.F.W. Chan and Dr M.L. Yeung (Second-class) Microbiology
  Dr Y. Hu (Second-class) Orthopaedics and Traumatology

Professor Y. Guan, Dr H. Zhu, Dr T.Y. Lam,
Professor K.Y. Yuen, Professor H. Chen, and Dr K.K.W. To
(Special class)

Public Health, Microbiology

  Professor W.W. Lu (Second-class) Orthopaedics and Traumatology
2014 Professor E.H.Y. Ng (Second-class) Obstetrics and Gynaecology
2012 Professor X.Y. Guan (First-class) Clinical Oncology
  Professor W.I. Wei (Second-class) Surgery
  Professor W. Wu (Second-class) Anatomy

Professor W. Wang, Professor Y. Li and Dr V. Cheung

Computer Science,
Mechanical Engineering


Professor Z. Zhou (Second-class)



Professor J.C.S. Chim (Second-class)


2008 Professor B.C.Y. Wong and Dr J. Wang (First-class)  Medicine
  Professor H.H.P. Fang (Second-class)  Civil Engineering
2005 Professor S.T. Fan, Professor C.M. Lo, Professor C.L. Liu and
Dr S.C. Chan (First-class) 

Note: The above list gives the title and Department of academics at the time of the award.


Back to External Honours & Awards