Visiting Professors Scheme

The Visiting Professors Scheme (VPS) was introduced in April 2022, combining the former Distinguished Visiting Scholars Scheme (DVSS) and Visiting Research Professors Scheme (VRPS). The scheme is aimed at enhancing the University's research competitiveness and visibility in the international academic community; providing the impetus to promote the development of targeted academic areas; and establishing links with world-class scholars and leading institutions for significant international collaboration. Scholars of top distinction in their discipline may be appointed as Distinguished Visiting Professors (DVP). VPS and DVP appointments can be long-term or short-term, depending on the needs of the host Faculty/Department and the time commitment of the scholars. The appointments are listed below by year:


Distinguished Visiting Professor

Host Faculty / Department

  • Professor Fraser Andrew ARMSTRONG
(Mok Hing-Yiu Distinguished Visiting Professorship)
Emeritus Professor and Fellow of St John's College, Department of Chemistry, University of Oxford, UK
Faculty of Science (Chemistry)
  • Professor Lin HE
Professor, Department of Molecular & Cell Biology, UC Berkeley, USA
LKS Faculty of Medicine (School of Biomedical Sciences)
  • Professor Tin-Lun HO
(Hung Hing Ying Distinguished Visiting Professorship in Science and Technology)
Distinguished Professor of Mathematical and Physical Sciences, Department of Physics, The Ohio State University, USA
Faculty of Science (Physics)
  • Professor Shu WANG
(Sin Wai-Kin Distinguished Visiting Professorship in the Humanities)
Dean and Professor, School of Architecture, China Academy of Art, China
Faculty of Architecture (Architecture, and Centre for Chinese Architecture and Urbanism)

Visiting Research Professor

Host Faculty / Department

  • Professor David DYZENHAUS
University Professor of Law and Philosophy, Faculty of Law, University of Toronto, Canada
Faculty of Law (Law)
  • Professor Bernhard KELLER
Professor, City University of Paris, France
Faculty of Science (Mathematics)
  • Professor Patrick LE GALÈS
Dean and Professor, The Urban School, Sciences Po, France
Faculty of Architecture (Urban Planning and Design)
  • Professor Alexander B. MURPHY
Professor Emeritus, Department of Geography, University of Oregon, USA
Faculty of Social Sciences (Geography)
  • Professor Zhong YOU
Professor of Engineering Science, Department of Engineering Science, University of Oxford, UK
Faculty of Engineering (Civil Engineering)
  • Professor Hua ZHU
Professor of Language Learning and Intercultural Communication, Director of International Centre for Intercultural Studies, Institute of Education (IOE), University College London (UCL), UK
Faculty of Arts (School of English)
Note: For more information on individual appointees, please contact the respective host unit.